learning to make a linocut print | DIY art

This past weekend I dug into my art supplies and rediscovered a linocut printing set that I had purchased. Feeling adventurous, I dug in (pun intended?) and crafted the block below:

first linocut monstermonster

The steps were simply as follows:

  1. Choose your design
  2. Draw it in reverse on the block
  3. Remove access material using the cutting tool (cutting yourself minimally, ouch!)
  4. Ink and press
the start of the cutting process

the start of the cutting process

freshly inked from printing

freshly inked from printing

the print

the print

For those that have tried linocut printmaking, show me your stuff! I’d love to see it!

– KM

Say hello.

